Header Ads


MEDIA Niugini Limited, through EMTV, has won the exclusive rights to broadcast the 2013 and 2017 Rugby League World Cups, and the 2014 and 2016 Four Nations contests.
EMTV will begin broadcasting LIVE matches between 14 nations, including Papua New Guinea, from the 26th of October, until November 30th, 2013. Replays of live matches will also be broadcast during prime time, so fans can catch up on games they have missed.

This year’s rugby league world cup is hosted by England and Wales, and will be the 14th Staging of the competition since its inception in 1954.

Chief Executive Officer of EMTV and Media Niugini Limited, Bhanu Sud, said winning the broadcast rights for the next two Rugby League World Cups, and the next two Four Nations, was an indication of EMTV’s commitment to quality television broadcasting, and giving viewers the games they love to watch.

“It is an exclusive for PNG. Rugby League, as a sport, has strong, passionate roots in PNG, and recent developments in the code are all aimed at lifting the standard of the game domestically. We feel it is the right time for a commitment such as this, which will bring our favourite sport, at the world level, to our viewers.” Mr Sud said.

This year’s Rugby League World Cup will see PNG in one of four groups made up of the top rugby league-playing nations of the world:

GROUP A: Australia, England, Fiji, Ireland

GROUP B: New Zealand, France, Papua New Guinea, Samoa

GROUP C: Scotland, Tonga, Italy

GROUP D: Wales, Cook Islands, USA

All 28 matches of the World Cup, will be played at 21 venues in England, Wales, France and Ireland.

Four Nations
The Four Nations features four of the strongest international sides in the game.

Born out of the tri-nations tournament in 2009, the Four Nations is a stern test for some of rugby league’s finest players.

The Four Nations features teams from Australia, New Zealand, England and one other.

The fourth team will be the Pacific Cup Champions in 2014 and the European Champions in 2016.

Powered by Blogger.